HTML <h6> Tag


HTML offers six different-level headings that show the relative importance of the section after the heading. So, the HTML element <h1> represents the most important heading of the first level, and <h6> serves to indicate the heading of the sixth level and is the least significant. By default, the title of the first level is displayed in the largest font in bold, the headings of the next level are smaller in size. Elements <h1> ..., <h6> belong to block elements, they always begin on a new line, and after them other elements are displayed on the next line. In addition, blank space is added before and after the heading.


Permitted Parents
Any element that accepts flow content; don't use a heading element as a child of the <hgroup> element — it is now deprecated.
Inline and text
Start/End Tags
Start tag: required, End tag: required


<h1>Heading 1</h1>
<h2>Heading 2</h2>
<h3>Heading 3</h3>
<h4>Heading 4</h4>
<h5>Heading 5</h5>
<h6>Heading 6</h6>



Global Attributes

The <h1> tag also supports the Global Attributes in HTML5

Event Attributes

The <h1> tag also supports the Event Attributes in HTML5

Browser Support

Explorer Edge Chrome Firefox Opera Safari
Tablets / Mobile
Android Chrome Firefox Opera Safari Samsung

Last updated by CSSPortal on: 6th December 2019