HTML <html> Tag


The <html> tag tells the browser that it is an HTML document.

In the HTML document, we define the document structure with three kinds of tags: <html>, <head> and <body>. HTML stands for HyperText Markup Language, and declares that the document is an HTML document. All other elements except <!DOCTYPE> are placed in between the <html> tags.

Example Code:
    <title>Title of the document</title>
    The content of the document......
Attribute Definition
version Specifies the HTML DTD version of the document. The version attribute is deprecated - use the <!DOCTYPE> tag instead.
content Specifies the property's value.
scheme Specifies a scheme to use to interpret the property's value (as declared in the content attribute).
http-equiv Used for http response message headers. For example http-equiv can be used to refresh the page or to set a cookie. Values include content-type, expires, refresh and set-cookie.
Global Attributes:

The <html> tag also supports the Global Attributes in HTML5